34th Annual Meeting - "Emerging Challenges for the Waters of Wisconsin"

Meeting Information

March 4 - 5, 2010 at the Madison Marriott West, 1313 John Q Hammons Dr, Middleton, WI 53562

Download the Call for Papers [414 kb pdf file].

Download the Conference Registration Information and Mail-in Form [673 kb pdf file].

Download the Conference Program [519 kb pdf file].

Meeting Highlights

Our evening speaker was Senator Mark Miller (D-Monona) who spoke on the latest groundwater legislation in Wisconsin.

Picture of Mark Miller, Dinner Speaker

Distinguished Service Award

This year’s Distinguished Service Award went to George Kraft (UW Stevens Point). George was recognized for his continuing efforts in water resources education and research in the central sand plains of Wisconsin.

Picture of George Kraft, Distinguished Service Award recipient

Student Awards

AWRA encourages student participation in its annual meeting by recognizing the best student oral presentation, best student poster, and undergraduate excellence in either the oral or poster categories. This year’s competition featured oral presentations by ? graduate students and posters by ? graduate and ? undergraduate students.

Best Student Oral Presentation Award went to Eric G. Booth, University of Wisconsin–Madison for Controls on the Soil Moisture Regime of a Restored Floodplain, East Branch Pecatonica River: A Field and Modeling Investigation.

Picture of Eric Booth, Best Student Oral Presentation Award

Best Student Poster Award went to Samantha N. Miller, Carthage College for Initiating a Long-term Monitoring Program of Aquatic and Terrestrial Invasive Species in Kenosha County, Wisconsin.

Picture of Samantha Miller, Best Student Poster Award

Best Student Poster Award went to Caren J. Ackley, University of Wisconsin–Parkside, Geosciences Depatment for Interactions between Tetracycline and Kaolinite in Aqueous Solution.

Picture of Caren Ackley, Best Student Poster Award